Purging of Unused Contact Objects
In order to comply with data protection legislation, CentralNic purges unused contact objects from the registry database. When a domain is updated to remove a contact, and that contact loses the “linked” status, then it will gain the “pendingDelete” status, and then will later be deleted from the database.
Registrars can opt-out of this system on the Account Settings page of the Registrar Console.
Restoring Contacts on Pending Delete
Registrars can “restore” a contact object that is scheduled for deletion by submitting a “no-op” <contact:update> EPP command. An example of such a command is below.
<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8" standalone="no"?>
When the server receives this command, the pendingDelete status is removed from the contact object and it will not be deleted. However, the object may still be deleted in future if it is not linked to a domain name once restored.